Walrus (Odobenus rosmarus)

December 13, 2016

  Walruses, whose latin name translates as “tooth-walking sea horse”, are found in the Northern Hemisphere along the perimeter of the Arctic Ocean and sub-arctic seas. The Pacific population ranges across the international boundaries of […]

Pinniped or fissiped? What’s the difference?

January 14, 2017

There are five families of marine mammals within the Order Carnivora that can be divided into two groups: pinnipeds (“flipper-footed”) and fissipeds (“pad- or paw-footed”). Pinnipeds are seals, sea lions and walruses; fissipeds are polar bears […]

Steller Sea Lion (Eumetopias jubatus)

December 13, 2016

The Steller sea lion, also known as the northern sea lion, is the largest member of the Otariid (eared seal) family. Steller sea lions exhibit sexual dimorphism, in which adult males are noticeably larger than […]

Polar bear (Ursus maritimus)

December 13, 2016

Polar bears evolved from brown bears and are the largest member of the bear family. Male polar bears measure 2.4- 2.6 m (8-9 ft) from nose to tail and generally weigh up to 600 kg […]